Tool Talk

Jeep Driver

I don't expect you to sit through a 20 minutes of me running my mouth but you can if you want. :L:

I just wanted to introduce some new tools I bought. And I'm curious was to what others are using and what you've collected over the years. 

YWhPiXm.jpg

VJjBj6s.jpg

LinugIZ.jpg

9Oru51K.jpg

0iVeiqB.jpg

efbDGWm.jpg

• Replies 317
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Impressive looking socket sets. But I am a retired professional aircraft mechanic and have been turning wrenches for over fifty years. You may use tools made in Taiwan or Japan which I have found to be inferior but, I would never purchase them for my own use.

I've heard a lot of very good things about those Grey Pneumatic Duo Sockets.

I'm lusting after Sunex's range of impact sockets recently.

My tools are a mix of consumer and old pro grade tools. Lots of Wright wrenches with some others mixed in. Mostly mid 90s and older made in the USA stuff. The import stuff is a LOT better than it used to be. I've broken lots of older import tools, had very few problems with the newer stuff. Out of the usual suspects, stuff made in Taiwan has served me the best.

still rocking my older craftsman USA-made 1/4-3/8" sockets and wrench sets. :D  overall they have been good to me.  for 1/2" sockets I have a mix of harbor freight, Cobalt, and... miscellaneous.    I super-seriously need to upgrade the 1/2" stuff but until then I just stop by lowes when I break one.  :( 

I explained why I bought those, or at least I tried to explain. Most of what I own are USA Craftsman which you'd have seen in my short and humble tool box tour. 

I've spend hours of recent scouring ebay for NOS and good used Craftsman tools, I got one good deal but otherwise rather fruitless. 

Even 20% of Snap-on tools are made in China now. See at 8:20

Looking for or at USA made tools..........you might find this interesting- 

Tax alone on that would be $2,300.00 here in TN.