Newbie here... How difficult to learn to work on these?

So, yeah, as the subject line says, I am a newbie here, but have been reading and lurking for a while. I stumbled onto Comanches when looking for a car for my kid a while ago, and kinda fell in love, and now via a friend of a friend, have a chance to buy one.  It needs work (likely a lot), and while I got a garage, tools, eagerness to learn and ambition, don't have much experience!

Question is: how realistically difficult is it-- if I take the slow, steady, do-it-right method-- to be competent at restoring my own? I am not naive, and respect the skills and expertise needed. But I also know, everyone's gotta start somewhere... and where would a Comanche rank in the difficulty ranking of an option to cut your teeth on?

The one I am looking at runs decently enough, no real significant rust; though parking brake is shot, maybe a steering leak, and definitely needs plenty of cosmetic work. Its an 86 with 198K. Owner wants $1200 and seems in range of stuff I am seeing out there.

Looking for wise advice before I possibly buy it to keep me from getting in over my head!?

It’s a 35 year old work truck. This is when trucks were still built to be worked by there owners. Most everything that you would want to do (save for a complete restoration) could just about be done in a weekend. Welcome to the club. 

Here's my take on your questions of ownership:

The 86 you're looking at is a Renix, so you'll need to understand that you're not getting an ODB-II system.  This means that you'll need to become familiar with a multimeter if you're not already.  Troubleshooting is a bit more of a challenge than with newer cars that have a system of almost doing it for you.

You say you have a garage, tools, eagerness to learn and ambition--CRITICAL TRAITS to have, my Brother!  Exactly what I was hoping that you'd include in your message.