An original owner

Hi, my name is Buck and I live in central Florida. I am the original owner of this '89 mj pioneer. It is a 2wd LB 4.0 5 speed with 241,500 on the ticker. I bought it in Kansas City and had it there for the first year and moved to Florida and have been here since. I had an '86 2.5 automatic before that and when I traded up to the 89 I had no idea I would still be driving it 20 years later. To say it's been a great truck is an understatement. I can't remember when I replaced the clutch, and the only complaint I've had is the clear coat breaking down here in the Florida sun. I had it painted 10 years ago and just got it back in Dec. for the 2nd paint job and I am so happy with the work the guy did. He said it will look even better after I wax it. For you off-roaders I am sorry to say this will never be a 4X4 swap. I am a musician (drummer/percussionist) and it hauls all my equipment without fail, well almost, one flat tire and one broken serpentine belt on the way to gigs, not bad for 20 years eh? Everything is stock although I am considering black rims after getting this paint job. The color is a little darker grey than original and the painter agreed to paint the bottom part and wheel wells black. It was his idea to paint the cowel black but I really like it. The first time I had it painted the pioneer stripes were removed and I was going to replace them and just liked it better w/o them. The aluminum topper is history (anybody want it?) and I was lucky enough to find a mint condition fiberglass topper in SC and had it shipped here. I'm in the process of painting it black, also will be spraying the bed. The bed slide will go back in and until then I'll be hauling equipment in the family Escape. I will look into rebuilding the engine in the future but it still runs great!

I have found so much information and inspiration on this forum so thank you all, I hope to pick some of your brains so sorry if I ask dumb questions along the way.

• Replies 78