Home Security

Zambeezy

Does anyone use home security cameras/monitoring/etc? Any brands or services you recommend?

I'm not really looking for a full-service monitoring solution like ADT. I just don't feel that the price is worth the value provided. I'm more interested in security cameras, window/door entry sensors, etc. I don't mind paying for a subscription if the value is there (e.g. I don't feel like paying $20/month for 30 days of video backup is worth it, but $3 might be. If it includes real-time monitoring via a call center, $20 may be a fair price).

I'm a Data Analyst, so technology is a big part of my life and something I'm very interested in. Don't always have to have the newest gadget but for things like smart motion detection that doesn't send false alerts for leaves blowing in the wind, I'm all about it.

Looking at the eufyCam 2 because I have a Eufy robovac and it's been great, and I've been happy with Anker products (sister company) for years. Customer service has always been good and the product cost has been reasonable for the value and quality provided.

Any thoughts from those who have installed a system, or who looked into it and decided against it?

I'm looking at doing the same thing.  I'm moving into the new house on Friday and that's one of the things I want to set up.

I'd prefer to use a wired camera setup though.  Jamming a wireless camera is far too easy.

I have wired POE cameras from Anran. The cameras are great, the NVR is garbage. We use Amcrest at work and it is a lot better. 

With that being said I havent had any more thefts from my yard since the cameras went up. 

22 minutes ago, derf said:

I'm looking at doing the same thing.  I'm moving into the new house on Friday and that's one of the things I want to set up.

I'd prefer to use a wired camera setup though.  Jamming a wireless camera is far too easy.

Glad you found a good one! Down in Castle Rock?