Spanish?

Eagle

6 hours ago, MiNi Beast said:

google translate helps those that do not. :thinking:

Google translates doesn't "translate" so much as "transliterate." It's perhaps marginally better than Bing translator -- but not much. DeepL is far better, but I need a technical/mechanical situation explained and the computer translators don't have the vocabulary to even begin to handle it.

I imagine someone will chime in soon with the Spanish ability you need and yes you need to find someone who is fluent. I studied French and some of the literal translations I have heard over the years are hilarious and I am sure I had some faux pas that would embarrass me. One of my favorites is a student arriving to college French class and having to explain why she was late, in French. Her response was that there was a traffic jelly. 

14 hours ago, ghetdjc320 said:

I’m a native Spanish and English speaker. Few other languages also. My parents moved to ecuador when I was 2. I’m also a certified language instructor. 

I envy people who can speak multiple languages. My late wife's cousin speaks six languages, all fluently. DISGUSTING!

What I needed was to explain to my step-grandson in Chile why I can't get the transfer case skid plate off my late wife's 2000 XJ because the bolts are seized up in the riv-nuts and the riv-nuts just spin when I try to unfasten them. Grandson can't understand why I don't just use a longer breaker bar.

Omega Rugal gave me something to send him. If that doesn't convey the idea, I'll ask you guys for more help. Thanks.

On 2/14/2021 at 11:51 AM, Eagle said:

I envy people who can speak multiple languages. My late wife's cousin speaks six languages, all fluently. DISGUSTING!

My wife speaks 5 languages.  I was doing pretty good at learning Spanish before we married.  More and more I began accidentally slipping Bisaya into my Spanish as that's my wife's native tongue.  Bisaya slowly began taking over what little Spanish I had learned.