Rebuilding/Restoring 1987 Comanche

This is my first attempt at completely rebuilding/restoring a vehicle. I have no previous mechanic experience. I was curious if anyone would give me some advice on the process. What needs to be done first? I have drained most of the fluids. Removing the gas tank is next. But after that, do I just clear everything out underneath the hood? How do I check to see if I need to replace my engine (supposedly it has a cracked head gasket; and if its not terrible I should be able to replace it, correct?). I am open to any suggestions. I am flying blind on this one. I have checked YouTube for help, and found a few videos; but nothing showing the entire process of rebuilding and restoring. Any direction to a website or video would be appreciated. Thank you in advance!

Here is where I would start:

Put the project on hold for 2-3 months. Store the truck in a dry, semi-warm spot.

During that time frame, dedicate HOURS a day to watching youtube videos and reading threads. Start with everything by BleepinJeep and Eastwood Company on YouTube and branch out from there. When you get tired of watching videos, start reading ALL the threads here. Epic Tech, DIY Forum, and Member Projects.  And I'm not joking, read every thread, every message, spend time with each picture. 

After that, figure out a budget. Think about what you want the truck to look like in the end and then figure up everything to get there. Take whatever number you expect to pay for the complete restoration of your truck and then multiply it by 2.5. That will get you close to an actual estimate although its probably still low.

Find local jeep clubs and salvage yards. You are gonna get pretty friendly with all of them before this is done. 

Finally, get to know Excel. Document everything from part numbers to receipts to install dates to how you changed the wiring harness and what you added. Record everything! Lift kit? New tires? Paint? Tools? Record it all!