Where do you start? Brand new to the Comanche world!

Just received an 86 2.5L 4x4, manual, longbed from my wife's grandfather. He used it as his daily driver and felt it was just time to pass it on. Luckily, I'm the only grandson-in-law or grandson in the family so I just picked it up from him a week ago. Overall, it is in great shape as far as I can tell, but before the wife and I take it out on some adventures I want to make sure we don't end up stranded. There have been a few issues that I have found so far namely, the lights to illuminate the gauges isn't working and some issues with a door opening and closing, but beyond that everything "seems" fine...until it isn't.

Again I'm brand new to the Comanche world so please keep it light on acronyms. Hoping for some guidance on where to start. It feels a bit like trying to eat the elephant even going through the current topics in the forum. I've found a few but then it goes down a rabbit hole. Thanks everybody for your patience with a newbie.

Welcome. Nice of your wife's grandfather to keep it in the family. My best advice is to drive it somewhat regularly for awhile until you get a sense of how reliable it is -- or isn't. It's now 33 years old, so unless the grandfather did it recently, my suggestion would be to start with a good round of preventive maintenance: replace all hoses and belts, flush the brake system with new brake fluid, inspect the brakes, etc. Don't start driving it to work unless/until you see that it's reliable. Try to use it as much as possible each weekend.

Are ALL the dash lights out? Maybe they're turned off. The headlight switch rotates, and rotating it acts as the dimmer. One end of the rotation (sorry, don't recall which way) is OFF. Try rotating the headlight knob.

Let me say: Welcome to the addiction! And with that, here is some advice in addition to what the gurus have said: