Blew my dana 35

Happened a few weeks ago but I blew my rear diff doing dumb things lmao. I went and got a whole axle from a 94 xj and will swap the guts sometime soon. I've never worked on a diff before but I should have some help. Regardless if theres anything useful to know about these specfically please let me know. Thanks!

I personally don’t love the idea of swapping used differential parts. I was told that if the parts aren’t wearing the same as they were in their original differential, they’ll howl and wear quicker. 

I'd look at an 8.8 out of an Explorer Sport Trac, an XJ 8.25, or an MJ or XJ Dana 44. They are all more work, but at least it’ll live. 

23 minutes ago, 89 MJ said:

I personally don’t love the idea of swapping used differential parts. I was told that if the parts aren’t wearing the same as they were in their original differential, they’ll howl and wear quicker. 

I'd look at an 8.8 out of an Explorer Sport Trac, an XJ 8.25, or an MJ or XJ Dana 44. They are all more work, but at least it’ll live. 

:iagree:

another option is a KJ 8.25. But why not swap the whole axle from the YJ you got? It should be close to bolt in for an MJ

As someone who has sunk money into rebuilding a Dana 35, I recommend doing not that. I had something else going on the second time it failed in my ZJ and needed a full rebuild and it was less time and effort for me to rebuild a second time. Ditto on the third rebuild. So far it’s holding on but I’m not rebuilding it again. If a swap isn’t on the table I would still try finding a decent used axle, and put new bearings and seals in that before rebuilding the same housing again with all new gears.