4x4 Conversion.. Is it worth it?

I've got an '89 MJ with the 4.0 i6, and AX-15 5-speed manual transmission.  Picked it up as a running project truck and it's been a blast to fix up.  It's just a 2 wheel drive, and it would be sweet to convert it to 4x4.  My question is this: How much would it cost (Rough estimate) to have a shop convert it, and would it be worth it?  From everything I've read on the internet, the general consensus for converting a 2wd to 4x4 is either do it yourself (Which is typically more work than it's worth) or sell your 2wd and buy a 4x4.  I would lean towards the latter option, but since MJ's are rare and harder to find in good condition, maybe that changes the value of taking on the conversion project with the MJ I've got?

I'm not very experienced in mechanical repairs, and doing the conversion myself is way out of range.  I'd definitely sooner just live with 2wd, then try to take it on myself.

Any thoughts or opinions are appreciated!

Fall leaves.jpg

27 minutes ago, Pete M said:

first question: what do you need 4wd for?

second question: are you planning on keeping this thing forever or just flipping it?

"need" would be for winter weather, and utility of using around the farm.. Not much for off-roading, but I do like the idea of having that ability as well.

I haven't decided on keeping or flipping it yet.  I like it enough that I could see myself keeping it indefinitely but I'm also still in the window where I could flip it if I needed/wanted to.

if you pay someone to do all the work, you're not likely to get much of that back in value. :(  also, the 4wd parts are becoming more challenging/expensive to find (so start hunting right away if you go that direction).  also, also, don't let that beauty touch salt.  not even once. :L: 

2 hours ago, Pete M said: