Loose axle components?

On a big screen you can see the cap on the u-joint is not seated correctly....FUBAR...........Like Pete says....time to replace......I think it will be a 1320 (?)

On 5/29/2019 at 12:12 PM, Pete M said:

sounds like your ujoint needs replacing. :L:    grab the axle shaft and give it a shake.  The Plus Sign shaped item inside should feel nice and tight with no wiggles. 

Thanks Pete. Do you think a novice could replace it, or should I leave it up to a mechanic?

a complete novice?  maybe.  I screwed up my first but was good on the next 2.  you'll need a press, or a ball joint tool, or sockets and a big hammer (that one takes the most skill).  watch a video or 2 on them and see if you're up for it.  :L:  If not, it'll be way cheaper if you pull the shaft and take it to a shop rather than the whole truck.  I would do both sides and also check the condition of the driveshaft ujoints while you're at it. 

My opinion: This is a great project to start with, if you want to work on your Comanche yourself. A basic socket set and a big hammer should be all that you need. Plus some PB Blaster or similar. Check out THIS video by BleepinJeep. Its a great walkthrough. THIS is another good video that will show you have to remove the front axle shafts.

So like Pete said, watch some videos and see what you think you are up for.

17 hours ago, Pete M said:

a complete novice?  maybe.  I screwed up my first but was good on the next 2.  you'll need a press, or a ball joint tool, or sockets and a big hammer (that one takes the most skill).  watch a video or 2 on them and see if you're up for it.  :L:  If not, it'll be way cheaper if you pull the shaft and take it to a shop rather than the whole truck.  I would do both sides and also check the condition of the driveshaft ujoints while you're at it.