Found less rust than I thought...

Mostly because it had already fallen away from the truck.

To the guys that bought actual MJ replacement panels, how well did they fit? I swear I saw a pic of one of the panels here, but I cannot find it anywhere. I seem to remember that the side didn't come up high enough to help the trans tunnel. I think tomorrow I'll go to the store and see what they have in the way of aluminum. I can't weld anything in, so I don't need to limit myself to steel. I bought a 3lb dead-blow hammer a couple weeks ago and am itching to try it out. :D

i just got full floor pans for both sides of my 87, this is my first project so I'm not sure on everything, i asked about the floor pans http://comancheclub.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1323 i bought mine from shermans, they seam to fit, with a little persuasoin and some cutting, here are some pics.

not sure how well this will turn out, hopefully well, they fit pretty good.

I got the footwell patches from Sherman's but I still think they were designed for an XJ floor. They didn't sit down tight on the framerail and side support under the truck so I just put a big @$$ rock on the pan to push it down. I had heavy rust going up into the tunnel like you. I had bought a donor XJ for drivetrain and just cut a big piece of the tunel out of that and installed it. The rust was actually bigger than the panel so I had to fab up and weld in some patches out of 18GA steel.

Also, you might want to cut back the reinforcement pieces. I found a lot of heavy rust underneath mine. You can order those parts online (I believe). I haven't put them back in yet and I don't know if I will.