Starting trouble

My 1987 Comanche 2.5L starts for a second then shuts down. Will do this countless times. Will not continue running. I have 15 psi fuel pressure. Have replaced filter. Also getting fuel to throttle body. Have cleaned crankcase position sensor. Ran great then this problem occurred. Any suggestions. I'm not a mechanic. Can do a little. Had this truck since new. 

Thanks,

Railroad Sam

39 minutes ago, eaglescout526 said:

Are you sure you’re getting fuel after the start up sequence? I only ask because the fuel pump relay is bypassed for the priming sequence. 

:yeahthat:

Sounds like it has power on crank but not run. Does it sound like it just sputters out?

Thanks for reaching out with help. Yes I've disconnected both fuel lines one at a time to throttle body.  Turn key to on and I'm getting fuel. Even dropped fuel line at filter. Turn key and getting fuel. Spliced in fuel pressure gauge at filter area. Get 15 psi right on spec.

Thanks,

Railroad Sam

I would put money on a bad fuel pump relay. The Renix system bypasses that relay to prime the fuel rail and once you going into crank position, the system switches the fuel pump power to the relay. So you could be getting fuel every where just from the priming but not for the engine to run.

Wow. That is something I will look into. I did notice also with fuel pressure gauge attached that immediately after turning ignition to off my 15 psi would went to zero psi quick. I will look for that relay and replace it.

Thanks so much,

Railroad Sam

Does the 2.5 have an IAC?  I had the same problem with my 4.0 in my CJ. It would start up but died once I let off the gas. I took the old IAC out and cleaned it (ended up replacing it).  It runs fine afterwards. 

(Mine is a 93 4.0 HO. )

1 hour ago, 87MJTIM said: