Another cooling thread

Hey guys. Ive been pouring over this website (and others) for a couple months now looking for tips on bringing down engine temps. On the highway, the trucks stays around 195 just like it’s supposed to. When I kick the A/C on it will jump up to 210, no big deal. Once I hit traffic it will climb pretty quickly, faster with the A/C on of course. It’s never spewed, but it will hover between the final tic-mark and the red area (I’m assuming ~250ish). It has a new 2 core aluminum radiator, new ZJ fan clutch, new 195 t-stat, e-fan works great, new  GMB water pump, new Zerex coolant with 60% water because I live in TX, and new coolant sensors front and back. I flushed the coolant recently even though it was super clean, thinking it could have had a blockage somewhere. I backflushed the heater core and pulled the t-stat so that everything got properly cleaned. I’m at a loss of what to do now. Would hood vents do the trick by evacuating the hot air? Do I need to go 3 core + triple e-fans? I just got back from a test run after installing the ZJ fan clutch and the same thing happened. It’s only 83 right now and overcast. If it’s heating up now, I don’t stand a chance once it’s in triple digits and sunny. Is there a way to tell if any passages in the block are sealed without tearing the engine down? I’m all ears. Thanks everyone. 

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Do you think that is enough of an upgrade? This doesn’t happen sometimes, it happens every time I drive it. Once it gets up to operating temp, even just stopping at a red light it will climb 10-15 degrees. Is there a way to check the engine for blockages? Could the PO have installed the water pump wrong? 

it is ABSOLUTELY a worthwhile upgrade. :L:  Will it fix your problems?  can't say for sure.

If your pump was backwards it would overheat all the time.