Project "CODE RED " 88 Olympic edition

Well this is my first build thread so I'm sorry if it's not like all the other well written ones on here .

Anyhow,I've always been keeping an eye out for a good solid rust free truck that I could use for a DD and not worry about it getting scratched or dented if I decided to take it on some light off-roading . I've accumulated parts over the years but just never found a good solid base to build off of until now .

About a month or so ago a fellow cc member (yellaheep) posted this truck for sale . It's an 88 SWB Olympic edition 4x4 with 191k on it . It has all 3 factory skids and is rust free . It has the BA10 trans with 3.07 gears which eventually will be changed to a nv3550 and a better gear ratio .

Yellaheep was kind enough to help it get loaded on the car carrier to get shipped up to me in Ohio . For some reason the two engine pics that I have when I first got the truck will not load on photobucket . Everything plastic rubber etc was melted beyond recognition .

The paint was gone off of the metal on the front part of the firewall ..

The floor boards on this truck are perfect ..

• Replies 98
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

So the first thing I wanted to tackle was fixing the firewall , both inside and out . I removed the whole interior ,Heater box , everything on the firewall and the inner fenders and also the engine , trans and transfer case .

I had a little more sanding to do but this is the last pic I took before I primed / painted the engine compartment .

And here it is painted ..

I used PPG single stage paint and primer because it holds up well and lays down nice with no buffing .

Thanks Minuit.

Next I sanded,primed and painted the firewall ...

The carpet was dirty and needed to be cleaned , and the jute padding was removed .i think it came out good and it smells good too .