Need to Safely Tow 5k lbs!

Hey all. New to the Comanche club and I think I'm  permanant member. I am in love with this truck. I need some quick parts sourcing help to get my comanche up to safely towing 5k lbs. I am going to be taking a position as a traveling nurse and I want this beast to be with me though the whole gig. I'm a skilled mechanic and can do everything necessary to swap in parts/weld/fabricate. No issues  there.

My rig:

89 Comanche, 4.0, AX-15, NP231 (I think J), 3.07 rear end.

I plan for a 98 tahoe 5.7, and maybe an automatic if the AX-15 cannot safely tow my stuff. I need advice on the BEST, most economic used axle to give me bigger and beefier brakes and large enough axles to tow the weight. I plan on reinforcing the frame as well.

I need to know which donor vehicles I can get these common parts from as well. I was thinking it might be wise to get a whole 1500 chevy or ford? Again. Time is of the essence and I work at a crazy rate. I'm not looking for spendy, fancy things. I want practical recommendations with parts that can be sourced easily. Thanks for your input!

Hi MrJrod,

For the answer to your question, the first place to look is the factory owner's manual that was in the glove box when the truck was new.

From page 101:

"Trailer towing

With a Class 1 hitch, your vehicle can be equipped to tow trailers with a Gross Trailer Weight (GTW) of 2000 lbs (907 kg).  With a Class III Hitch, your vehicle can be equipped to tow trailers with a Gross Trailer Weight (GTW) of 5000 lbs (2268 kg).  Vehicles equipped with a rear step bumper are rated for a Class 1 hitch.

Other restrictions apply concerning trailer type, trailer frontal area, and tongue weight.  Carefully review the Minimum Vehicle Requirements chart in this section."