Question about SOA leaf conversion for front axle

EDIT: I guess the title should be more specific to the question about converting the front to leaf springs. Pardon my inaccurate problem description. 

I am kind of new to the off-roading modification scene. I am wondering what the deal is with people doing leaf conversions on the front end (SOA conversion, is that the term?) I've done a little bit of reading on the forums but cannot get a clear understanding.

I don't understand the benefits or why someone would do it to their Comanche. I see it sometimes on Wranglers, and honestly with Wranglers the benefits seems more intuitive. But I'm curious about the Comanche. To me, it seems like it would drastically reduce articulation and turning radius (unless your wheels are sticking out a ton).

I guess, specifically, I'm hesitant to buy a local Comanche that is for sale because it's got this SOA conversion on the front and I know nothing about. Seems like a ton of welding and whatnot, although it looks like it was done well. Says it's got Dana 44 and 60 and then 4" YJ leafs on the front. Is this front-end leaf conversion a normal thing?

Just looking for some last-minute insight. Thanks much! 

These are the pics on the ad (you post it on the internet it becomes fair game, right  B)).

Image Not Found

SOA actually stands for (Spring Over Axle). It doesn't specifically have to do with front or rear, just weather or not the suspension is leaf sprung, the other option is SUA (Spring Under Axle). Our comanches are leaf in the rear and control arms up front, same as a cherokee.

Judging by your sig you have both a cherokee and a comanche, if they are both stock, your cherokee should have SOA, and your comanche SUA, take a look :)

also a reason why one would go SOA over SUA, at least on our truck, is that it's a cheap way to get around 5 or so inches of lift. (there's a bit more work though...and welding)

I hope this help, I also hope I'm right :P