1987/2000 Comanche Limited

I have finally found a spare moment to start my build blog. I first want to thank you guys for having such a great site. I am Mark and from a small town in North Carolina. I have always loved Comanches, I first remember the 89' eliminator that my dad had. It was a black auto with the black buckets, console and dash. I bought an 87' Sportruck back in May. I drove about 300 miles round trip to pick this truck up after I found it on craigslist, but I couldn't have found a better platform. This truck has never heard of rust. I made sure to check the floorboards, and they were as they were 24 years ago. Also found the build sheet when checking the floors out. Body was in decent shape minus the right bedside, but could have been alot worse. I am planning on doing a full repaint in Chyrsler's Gunmetal, 97-98, whick is the light blue found on 97 &98' cherokees. I wholesale cars for a living and do my own bodywork, i have been wanting a project for some time know and can't wait till I get to spray this thing. It was a 2 owner, 2.5, 2wd, auto. I wish I took some pictures of it but I couldn't help myself to start tearing it apart. I am doing the 97+ swap. I really fell in love with Project Onyx and the several other 97+ that are on here. Some of the pictures....

First picture of the truck, I couldn't help myself, really regret not taking any more

Shot of the Icons on brand new 255/75/16 Pirelli All Terrains

dash in place

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I removed a the two green brackets from my donor xj then welded them onto the mj. I think I had to cut two brackets off of the mj first, then I spotwelded the green brackets on for the aluminum steering support.

Then came the time to cut the firewall for the steering column. I just cut a patch out of the donor xj, then drilled several holes in the patch and spot welded it onto the mj. Then came some seam sealer around the edges and...

BLUUUUEEEEEE