Stuff on my Jeep

Hi y'all, I'm a noob here. My friend is gifting me this '89 Comanche Eliminator, 2WD 4.0 L6 OHV 12V. It has about 130,000 miles on it. I have no car maintenance experience but am pretty handy and ready for a project. 

Here's what I know so far- the truck runs but won't currently pass CA smog, the brakes need work, and needs a new windshield wiper motor. I got the factory service manuals so am hoping to take care of the manageable fixes myself and rely on a shop for the more involved issues. I'll be using it to haul garden materials in the near future and then later down the line probably more farmy work and adventuring.

My current plans:

Get all the stuff off it
Have a mechanic do an assessment/brakes
Check out the EGR valve and spark plugs

Replace the wiper motor 

Replace the driver vent window

Any advice is welcome! I'm really excited and sure I'll have lots of questions once I get into it. :comanche:

comanche.jpg

• 4 weeks later...

I don't know what values are failing, I haven't attempted to smog it myself. The owner said it's "never passed" in the 16 years he's had it. I'd like to do things by the books though. Guess we need to get it smogged to find out what the issues are.

• 3 weeks later...

Woohoo! Got her back from the mechanic last week, they replaced the catalytic converter, crankshaft pulley, drive belt, spark plugs and cables, distributor cap and rotor, valve cover gasket, freeze plugs, front brakes, and rotors. Also turned out one of the wheels was only held on by two bolts :shaking: so they secured that. With all the work done, passed smog and got it registered over the weekend. 

Next is a new vent window for the driver's side and got the wiper motor to put in. Mirrors definitely need some love and the headliner is disintegrating so want to prioritize those also.