rear main seal

dj5

I just swapped in my new radiator and while getting the coolant in the engine realized there was an oil leak, took a look...its my rear main seal.
I lost 2 quarts in a matter of 30 miles and its burning on my exhaust.

I'm not competent enough to do this type of thing. would about should I be looking at in costs reasonably to get this fixed?

You will be surprised what you can do with a little reading up on the procedure.  ( I am a CPA, but I do much of my own mechanincals.  I just swapped trans in a CJ7 with a lot of reading.)

First, do you have space to work?  You picture looks like a community parking lot.

Note: it is a dirty job.  Have on old clothes and a hat for your hair, like a hair nets the cafeteria ladies wear.  Also, eye protection since you will be on your back looking up alot. Put a large piece of cardboard under the truck.

1. Disconnect battery cable

1a. Jack up the truck.

2. Put jack stands under the frame rails.  Let the front axle hang down to give you room to work.

3. Drain the oil.

4. Remove starter.  2 bolts and a wire.

5. If you have a front skid plate, remove it.  4 bolts.

6. start undoing the oil pan bolts.  Have a piece of cardboard ready.  As you remove the bolts, push them through the cardboard in the same position as the pan.

7. Once all the bolts are off, pull off the pan.  You may need to "gently pursued it" off.  Use a rubber mallet to tap it and rock it side-to-side.  DO NOT PRY IT OFF.  You may bend the rim of the pan.  CAREFUL as you lower it down.  The oil pump is hanging down into the pan.

8. At the rear of the engine, remove the last bearing cap.  DO NOT scrape or mark the bearing.  The lower RMS sits into cap.

9. Take a small punch, carefully punch out the upper seal.  DO NOT scrape the bearing!

10 Coat the upper seal in oil (some use liquid soap) to slide the upper seal in.  The is tricky, so be patient.