Rear Springs

Complete newbie here just got an 89 Pioneer Comanche. I'm noticing all the MJ specific lift kits seem to have add a leaf instead of new springs. Am I better off buying a kit for an XJ so that I get the new springs?

From what I have read the XJ and MJ suspension (i.e. springs and such) kits are the same, is this true? I am looking at the Rough Country Kits but have not selected at all as of yet. My WJ has OME kit with JKS adjustable track bar and control arms, but the kit for the XJ is just too small. I want about 4" lift preferably to fit 32 or 33s.

Thank you in advance for any help

Jim

You would not receive a lift by using xj springs. MJ springs are alot longer and have a significant arch vs xj springs. There are a few places out there that sell mj lift springs. Hell creek is great, i think rusty's it trying.

the front springs are the same, but the rears are way different. A cheaper method would be to make a bastard pack of leafs look through the diy forum there's junkyard tips and spring pack references on there.

Cherokee rear springs are nowhere close to Comanche ones. First off, they are a lot shorter meaning they would not fit, or even come close to fitting. Also they are nearly flat where stock Comanche springs have quite an arch to them, which has a lot to do with the Cherokee spring mounting on top of the axle and the Comanche spring mounting under the axle.

In fact, My (daughter's) Cherokee has about 4" of lift achieved in the rear by using the Cherokee main spring, then two leafs from a Comanche pack, and finally the Cherokee bottom leaf. In reverse, bastard packing a spring replacing arched Comanche leafs with much flatter Cherokee ones would lower your truck.

An add-a-leaf on a Cherokee achieves lift in three ways:

1 - the thickness of the leaf add to lift, the same way that a lift block would do so.