Troubleshooting "new" Renix 87' Comanche

Hey y'all,

First time Jeep owner, just bought a 87' Comanche with 2wd and the 4.0l paired to a 5-speed! 

This is my first time seriously working on any car so it has been a bit overwhelming as I only have basic automotive knowledge. 

When I bought the Jeep, the owner said it had an overheating problem, and had replaced the overflow tank, the water pump, and thermostat, to no avail. Unfortunately the coolant and fuel gauges don't work. After towing it home, I drove it around the block and it died 100 yards from my house. I'm wondering if it is the alternator. To make matters worse, after lightly pressure washing the engine bay (covered the distributor and exposed wires), the truck will no longer start. 

Here is a basic list of my most important problems:

1. Truck won't start. There is spark, and engine cranks. I don't know what to do, after following the first four steps on http://cruiser54.com/ (ground refreshing, C101 cleaning, Connector & relay/receptacle refreshing, and Coil/ICM contacts), it still won't start. The C101 was completely covered in tar which was quite a sight to see... Also, the vacuum lines are all attached, but pretty brittle. However the ones attached to the purge tank are practically falling off from erosion. IMG_7288.JPG.6f44c59204ce448d78ef6b6af9d52ce6.JPG 

2. Coolant gauge won't read, what should I check for? The forum posts i've read have confused me on the matter. This is important as I will be able to tell whether my truck is overheating or not and if I can diagnose the problem.

3. Turned off while driving and battery died. Alternator? How do I test?

Thanks for your patience, any help would be awesome. I'm super excited to get my truck running and get it on the road. It had been sitting for 17 years before the previous owner did some basic maintenance to get it running, but not much more. I'm a little worried about getting the CA emissions system to pass smog though... One step at a time.