Saga of my MJ

I have been viewing this site for many years. Just joined a month ago. (My bad.) Never could find the answer to my problem so I just kept looking and never joined to ask. (Really my bad) My 1986 MJ (everything swapped from a 1987 XJ 20 years ago) I went from a 4 cylinder 4 speed 2 wheel drive power nothing to a 4.0, AW4, 4 wheel drive, bucket seats, center console, power windows power door locks, power brakes. Seemed like the thing to do at the time.

The XJ was pretty peppy when I got it. Dunked it in a water hole not realizing how deep it was. Well water came over the hood engine stalled. Sitting there looking at the sky I was able to restart and pull out of the hole. I now know why people at the beach went around them. I sputtered home. Pulled distributor cap wiped all the water out. Ran good as new. After a few weeks it started getting hard to start and lacking power. Somedays it would start right up and  power was back. Felt like I was towing a tank on the bad days. Finally everyday was a bad day. Did a full tune-up. Changed CPS. Nothing helped. Decided it was time to get a new Jeep. Found a used 1997 Grand Cherokee.(This was in 2000) Dealer said he would only give me $1000 trade in due to the mileage 160,000 on the XJ. It  was in perfect shape inside and out. The MJ was my go to Lowes truck. Sometimes the MJ would flood out due to a TBI wire shorting out, (I later found out later during disassembly.) So I really did not trust it.