Legal question about repro parts

Dzimm

For those lawyer types out there, what might the legal issues be if someone were to use a 3d printer to reproduce and sell some of the discontinued plastic vehicle parts for older vehicles?  

If no other companies make what you're wanting to make, then nobody can get mad about it...
If they are worried about your little bit of profits then they should have never stopped making them.

Your profits will most likely be less than any lawyer fees for them to sue you anyways.

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

12 hours ago, Dzimm said:

For those lawyer types out there, what might the legal issues be if someone were to use a 3d printer to reproduce and sell some of the discontinued plastic vehicle parts for older vehicles?  

I would suspect that as long as you don't try to represent your reproduction part as a true, factory OEM built part, your are doing nothing wrong.  How else do we get all these "factory replacement" parts?

I am not a lawyer.  (I did not play one on TV; I did not sleep at a Holiday Inn Express)

Somewhere someone owns the patents for the parts.  If the owner finds out that someone is making that part AND SELLING THEM, the owner may sue for lost revenue and legal fees...if they find out about it.

If you make it for your own personal use, they cannot go after you.

Continue at your own risk.

39 minutes ago, 87MJTIM said:

Somewhere someone owns the patents for the parts.  If the owner finds out that someone is making that part AND SELLING THEM, the owner may sue for lost revenue and legal fees...if they find out about it.

87MJTIM is correct about this. 

I am not a lawyer, either.  However, I know quite a bit about patents and intellectual property due to my career.  This is not legal advice: