Bought A 1990 Comanche. Upgrades?

I recently bought a 1990 Jeep Comanche, Has a 4.0, 5 speed standard, 2wd. Not too sure on all the particulars of it, as I am new to jeeps. What kind of upgrades do you guys recommend? I'm going for usability, and fuel economy mostly. I have a bigger truck to pull heavy stuff but I'd like to do some towing with this (only a small trailer, max of 1400 lbs). It's not going to be used for off road, mostly just will see highway and gravel roads. I currently have 225/75 R15's on it. Should I be looking at going with a different size? Any help is greatly appreciated!

For your intended use, I'd go with an upgraded trans cooler, ALL synthetic fluids, heavier duty shocks, new bushings all around, maybe a budget boost in the front along with some 235/75's, and some more aggressive brake pads (I like Performance Friction's carbon-metallics). On the engine side, electric fans, a high flow air filter, and a free flowing magnaflow exhaust would be my picks.

Other upgrades would be a WJ or late XJ dual diaphragm brake booster, if you're staying 2wd, wj front brakes would be an easy swap, ZJ v8 or xj up country front sway bar 28mm, custom rear sway bar especially if towing, rear disc brake conversion maybe with a ford 8.8 axle to go with it. Better shocks... I have modified JK shocks on mine. They ride real nice. You can search here too for junkyard upgrades. There are a few really good threads floating about here and at naxja.org on that subject.