1988 Comanche "Frankenjruck"

New to the forum and a complete beginner when it comes to working on vehicles - will be using this Comanche as a launching point. But enough of that, on to the good stuff!

GbcsLUh.jpeg

Eia3g43.jpeg

imPUM7T.jpeg

Found this beaut while browsing FB Marketplace. I'm not a car guy - I've been working with my brother (who is) to find myself a vehicle that will serve as both my daily and a means to go camping and fishing on long ~10 day trips. Brother pushed me to get a Cherokee but I really wanted a Comanche. Funnily enough I sent this one to him as a bit of a joke. My exact words, "Look at this Frankenstein!"

5wsvdzp.png

He had a more learned eye and almost immediately said that he would buy it. Only trouble was that the truck was all the way in Northern Ohio. I'm a bit south of there in Dallas. Lol. We ironed out the details to head up that way - all said it would cost about 1600 to fly up, rent a truck and trailer, and drive it back home. The (now) PO was more than accommodating and agreed to hold the truck for us so we booked everything and went up Thursday after work. Needless to say we bought her and trailered her the 1200 miles back home! Oklahoma gave us a taste of her wrath with not one, but two, hailstorms. Nothing that can't be fixed when we get her painted though. Thankfully we had a damage waiver on the rental.

Some of y'all may be wondering about the V8 mentioned above. Well, here it is! PO swapped the straight six for a L98 from a 1986 C4 Corvette. She's truly a Frankenstein with parts from 5 vehicles: 3 Comanches, a Cherokee, and of course the Corvette.

Pm9XvcA.jpeg

Like I mentioned previously, this truck is going to be my foray into the automotive world. Thankfully I've got some excellent resources in my brother and dad but I definitely plan on using this forum and other sources online to get a running start.

So far we've found a few things that need fixing:

Steering wheel has a bit of play