Belt squeaks...

What would cause this?

Belt started squeaking at random, so I threw a new belt at it. It was gone for the first 20miles of driving... then all of a sudden it's back, with a vengeance... louder then ever. So I started playing with it.

70mph.

A/c on would quiet it down but not take it away entirely.

A/c back off just as loud, to be slightly different.

Clutch in, (neutral gear) no noise.

In gear noise returns.

Next day. <GONE> what...?

Sounded like idler or a/c bearing dying? Am I right?

Unfortunately for whatever was making the noise it was 9pm and I had 80miles to drive. So no auto stores to stop at and replace pulley. 

Thoughts?

What brand of belt did you put on? I had the forever screeching belt noise. I had replaced the idler pulley, then the fan clutch because it had gone bad, then installed a JY a/c compressor to get my a/c going again. Was hoping one of those was the culprit.......nope. Tightened it up a good bit as the consensus is 4.0L belts need to be above avg tight. A little better but did not eliminate it, then eventually back to really annoying and loud. Had a shop I trust spend some time with it, said he couldn't find anything wrong and suggested we try to putting a Gates belt instead of the Dayco that was put on there @1yr ago when the fan clutch was replaced at another shop. I also heard a "Gatorback" belt worked for many people so I got one off ebay. Anyhoo, I had the shop put the Gates on and other than an occasional squeal at startup, it's been quiet ever since and @1500+ miles of driving. Still got the Gatorback belt to try if the squealing comes back with a vengeance. 

13 hours ago, jdog said:

Sounds like the throw out bearing if it goes away with the clutch in.

No its belt or bearing, got it to squeal in neutral pushing the throttle from the throttlebody parked.

11 hours ago, WahooSteeler said:

What brand of belt did you put on?