Towing with an XJ?

JohnQ

will it pull it?

yeah

will it be able to control it?

errr, this is a 3,500Lb vehicle towing a 3,500lb vehicle on a (full?) trailer... thats alot of weight and its not gonna be easy to control.

brakes?

trailerbrakes and upgraded XJ brakes would be advised.

i'd tow an XJ on a trailer with an MJ before i did the opposite, the wheelbase would help you with control

I'm a trailer noob...

Trailer brakes solely depend on the trailer right? Or do they tie into the towing vehicles' braking system? I hope that makes sense.

I would like to one day trailer my MJ with my ZJ. Maybe flat towing is the way to go...

Flat towing isn't any safer. What you gain in less weight, you lose in the lack of extra brakes. I've flat towed my MJ with a KJ and there's no doubt I was maxing out the KJ's braking system. (plus the long weheelbase of the MJ pushes the KJ around and can make for an eye-opening experience even on a flat straight road)

Flat towing isn't any safer. What you gain in less weight, you lose in the lack of extra brakes. I've flat towed my MJ with a ZJ and there's no doubt I was maxing out the ZJ's braking system. (plus the long weheelbase of the MJ pushes the KJ around and can make for an eye-opening experience even on a flat straight road)

Well, which was it????

A ZJ or a KJ?

(One is certainly cooler than the other, and no the cool factor from the diesel motor doesn't offset the rainbow happiness of the ladies Jeep)

I have towed an XJ about 70 miles flat behind my ZJ. My ZJ is a 95 5.2L with the factory towing package(HD tranny cooler,3.73 gearing,Yada,Yada,Yada)

Will is start it? Yes

Will it stop it? Yes

Was it fun and something I want to do again? NO

I towed another XJ about 40 miles on a tow dolly behind my ZJ.

Start it? Yes

Stop it? Yes, much better the dolly had surge brakes on it.