Oil everywhere on my 4.0

Since I'm pretty new to the "older" 4.0s......

How normal is this? Oil is everywhere on the drivers side underneath. The vent (PCV) on the rear of the valve cover is leaking badly. I can't seem to locate a new grommet for that. The dealer wants more than $20 for a little piece of rubber.

Here's a pic.

Image Not Found

Thanks,

Ron

Help! makes the part. It's just not one that is stocked normally, but can be ordered.

I think.

Or just buy the dealer part. You think $20 is bad. I payed more like $40 for it.

Then get some gunk engine cleaner and spray the $#!& out of that thing.

• 1 month later...

I got the part from Orielly's about 2 weeks ago. It helped some but I still have a BIG problem. My entire driver's side frame rail is covered with oil just behind the airbox. My air filter is FULL OF OIL. I have to go buy a new one now it will hardly even move. It looks like oil is coming from the front hole (very bottom of the picture) in the valve cover and being pumped into my airbox. Any suggestions on how to fix this problem?

Thanks again,

Ron

I read all 4 pages at NAXJA. Mostly talking about buying the parts or fabbing some up. Seems there is some baffles in the valve cover that could stand to be cleaned but ....Is it possible that much oil is going through the filter box and down to the wheel well?

I have the same exact problem. I sealed up the leaks at the top end and now my drivers side suspension and fender well are covered with oil. I was gonna build my new bumper this weekend but I think I need to fix this first. I am going through a quart of oil every 200 miles (2 days). I was thinking maybe the pressure is enough that its causing a leak under the exhaust where I can't see???

ok, I think that we need to get some basic understanding of the CCV system in this thread.

The grommet and the hose in the rear are a metered vacuum leak. That hose is supposed to suck all of the vapors from the valve cover back into the intake.