Spare tire area fuel tank.

Anyone have ideas for what size fuel tank would fit in the spare tire area on a short wheelbase 4wd 92 mj. I'm looking possibly at a tj or xj or maybe yj tank but don't know if Any would fit. Does anyone know the dimensions of these tanks? I don't mind altering cross brace under the bad some to make extra room. Looking to move the tank to create room for 3 link or triangulated 4 link.

Thought about it but I don't think I could make it work with factory fuel filler location. If I could find a long skinny one that might fit under the tool box though that might could be neat but I have never used a fuel cell like that before so I don't know much about them. How to fill them easy, do they make them with fuel sending units so I could know fuel level with factory gauge etc.

I'm looking at an alum from summit racing currently 30"x17"x7" built in fuel pump and gm sending unit 0-90ohms to match oem gauge. $230 dollars roughly. This might be the route I go. I'll have to measure when I get home this might require cutting part of the x brace out and re bracing with stronger metal tubing.

Measure a 19 gallon rear fuel tank from a 1996(?) and earlier Ford F150 pickup fuel tank.  Must be a million of them in junk yards.  Very close to the dimensions of the Summit tank.  Some include a fuel pump in the tank.

Before you mount your tanks there, do some reading about the Ford Pinto fire risk in rear end collisions  There is a reason why fuel tanks are now located in the middle of the car.  Also, where will you relocate your spare tire?

If you do decide to go with the rear mounted tank, think about how you are going to protect the tank.  Meaning a solid bumper and a factory type class 2 trailer hitch.

As an alternative, think about a stock 18 gallon Comanche fuel tank located on the passenger side .. May be an issue for your rear suspension plans, but it is a viable alternative.