Synthetic oil

alleydog

Just wondering if alot of people use synthetic motor oil in their jeeps I drive a 91 YJ 2.5 to work most every day, it's only 2 miles each way. I have been running 5w30 havoline for the last 4 years, and the engine is real tired, lifters tick alot, and the oil really gets beat up bad. So last time I changed it , I put Havoline full synthetic in it, and after 300 miles, it runs better than it ever did, only ticks a little at times, and I actually use 5th gear again on the highway. Could the oil do this? It's all I changed. The only other explanation, is, "they always run better just before they blow!"

I have a close friend that works for Quality Oil Co. Its in Valpo out here in Indiana. He swears buy Synthetics, says they are the future! He uses Mobile 1. But i thinks its free to him. I have never tried, but he claims the results your talking about. He also says don't waste your money on Synthetic blends, cause there is no regulation on how much synthetic they have to put in.

I run synthetic. Why? I am not sure. It seems the synthetics usually meet my preferred ratings over conventional.

I started running synthetic in a 4.2 YJ that had 100K miles on it. Replaced the valve cover gasket and noticed lots of gunk build up on the valve train when I first got it. After some 20K miles (with synthetic) I had to do the gasket again (I was using the cork, hadn't learned of the rubber) and noticed the valve train looked nearly spotless. Little to no gunk on it.