Drum brakes

After owning my jeep for three years with no parking brake, I finally decided to fix it this weekend. The previous owner removed the two rear cables that go to each drum. But since I have never done the drums before, and being the kind of guy that just removes cables when something stops working, I am assuming that the PO didn't ever do them either. My stopping power has also gone to hell, so the whole drums are getting an overhaul this saturday.

Now I have never owned a vehicle that had drum brakes before, so I have no idea what I am getting myself into. My first question is what size drums does it have? Napa online says that you could have a 10x2.5 or 10x1.75. I have a Dana 35 so do I have the 1.75"? Second question is what all will I need to get these drums stoppin good again? I know shoes and probobly springs and perhaps getting the drum machined, anything else? Napa has a hardware kit that seems to supply about everything in the drum and it is $9, what do you guys think?

I'm not sure on what size Drum you have... But If you have em apart just replace EVERYTHING. Do shoes and the hardware kit, and get the Drums cut at a minimum and take a good look at the wheel cylinders, You are so for in already wouldn't want to take all that apart again cause the wheel cylinder started leaking a week later! And if you break the rusty steel brake line getting the wheel cylinders off they need to be replaced anyway!

The D35 will have 10 x 1.75 brake drums ( 10 x 2.5 are for D44 )

The reason your rear brakes are not working, could be from the "self-adjuster" not adjusting. And the shoes are not even near the drums to help with stopping power.

Most places will not even machine drums any more, and the cost of new drums (about $26) are close to the cost to get them machined.

Do get and install a complete hardware kit, with new springs and hold downs.