2.5 engine problem

Hello all,

I'm new at this so stay with me...

I just got a 87 Jeep Comanche from CA by way of CO. I can't get it to run right. Took it to dealer and he is having trouble with it. It is the 2.5 throttle body, 4 spd. It will idle and go IF you take it to the floor and run but nothing in the middle. It falls on its face! No power in the mid range. Replaced a ton of parts and it idles really well but still no power. We cut off the exhust and ran stright pipe, still no power. It is like it isn't getting air? Or something wrong with fuel air mix? We replaced fuel filter and we have fuel presure. Maybe not enough under power?

The Jeep dealer is Lou's Jeep in Geneva IL and they have been with Jeep since 1946 so I know they know what they are doing but sure would like some ideas from so of you.

Need your help.

Thanks,\Woody

First, thing. Howdy Neighbor!!!!!!!!!

I'm out in lovely Ogle County. BOB(a part timer here) is right down the street from you.

When you cut off the exhaust, did you remove the converter? One idea would be a plugged cat.

2.5s are slow, but not "fall on [their] face slow."

But this is a 2.5L 4-speed, which means it has 3.45 gears rather than the 4.10 gearing used on 2.5s with a 5-speed.

I own two of these. The 2.5L mated to 3.54 gears IS "fall on its face slow."

I cut off all of the exhuast. No converter. We don't do emission test here. The little truck has power at start and if I put it to the floor but nothing in the middle. Have replaced throtal control sensor, crank sensor, rotor, cap, wires, pulgs, battery, all battery cables, starter. made another ground cable. I'm confident I have electric, gas and air but I'm missing something here. Just no power at all. I MEAN at ALL! in the middle. If I put the peddle in the middle the truck slows and will stall.

It has to be on the floor or just touching it.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

woody