Misfire? Engine Shudder? Vacuum leak? Where to start?

I seem to be going backwards lately with my truck. I have had several things done recently that were more in the "should do" category than "need to do" category, yet each time it seems like the truck has taken one step forward and two steps back. 

I had the rear main seal replaced and it ended up leaking worse than before. Luckily I've been using this shop for a couple of years, they are very reputable and did it again for no charge, as expected. I picked it up last Thursday and dry pavement under the truck. Drove it back to the office and when I left work, dry pavement. Drove it about 20 miles that evening to my son's wrestling match, seemed to be running well, dry pavement underneath when I left the match a couple hours later. On the way home it started to shudder in the 0-40mph range under light acceleration. It was relatively fine while cruising at hwy speeds but would shudder again if I had to accelerate. My son drove it the past couple of days and I was able to drive it again tonight and it is definitely getting worse. Still dry pavement under the truck so the RMS replacement is holding up. I checked vacuum lines since one time they got crossed up at the airbox and it had similar symptoms but everything appears to be connected where it should be.

Looking for direction on what may be the cause of these symptoms. 

My first thought would be to check that MAP sensor vacuum line. It runs from the MAP sensor on your firewall to a port on the side of your throttle body.  A poor connection or a crack in the hose effects critical vacuum, which makes your vehicle run like hell--especially at idle.  

Your symptoms are nearly exactly the same as mine when I discovered a bad connection here.   Mine put out a horrible unburned fuel smell at idle too.

27 minutes ago, coolwind57 said: