Debt Collection Advice

Dzimm

So I am in a situation where a small dog daycare owes me $500 for labor because I built some 4ft walls to separate the rooms.  This work was done about a year ago and so far I have only been paid back for materials cost.  

The problems I have are that the agreement for payment and work to be done was over text message so not a formal contract but a contract non the less?  I'm also not actually a business, my girlfriend used to work there and I agreed to do it because I could use the money and had the knowhow and tools.  The other big issue is that the agreement was made with the previous owner of the business, which has now been sold to the groomer.  The groomer was and still is aware of this debt.  There were a bunch of other debts that the PO didn't tell the groomer about though so they had a shady sale. 

What I want to know is what are my options for collecting the debt?  Send a collection notice? Lawyer? 

I am a CPA, not an attorney.  That said, here are my first questions:

How did to old owner operate the business: corporation, LLC, or sole proprietor?

How did the sale of the business occur:  was it a "stock" sale, or was it an "asset" sale?

Depending on the answers to above questions will determine IF you can collect and FROM WHOM you can collect.

(My first thought is you have to go to the old owner.)

In addition to what Tim wrote, consider the cost of collection. The debt is $500. It'll probably cost you $250 to $350 to get a lawyer to write a letter, which the owner of the business will ignore anyway. For a lawyer to take it to court, figure on giving him/her a retainer of at least $5,000.