2.5L head bolt

So I didn't think I would get to this right away, but I can't stand not knowing. I'm looking at changing the head gasket in a '91 2.5L. Total milkshake in the oil after ten minutes driving at most. 

image.jpeg.889df1b68d25078ec7df2e8f56b384bf.jpeg

Yeah, that bad. 

Considering I have zero knowledge of the engine's history, I'm kinda anticipating finding worse than just a bad head gasket, but I've got to start somewhere. I've got a gasket set on the way, but none of my usual parts sources have listings for a bolt set, and given the lack of history and known problems, I'm not excited about reusing them. One of the parts guys we use at work has a set coming for a "2.5L '96 Wrangler", whatever that is, which seems to be the way to go per some brief research, 2.5L TJ. I haven't really been able to find too much though. Some people are also saying to just take the 4.0 bolt set and not use all of them, but there were length differences between them and the TJ set, according to my parts guy at least. 

Anyone been here before?

Up till about 86 they used 7/16" head bolts, after that the 2.5l got 1/2" head bolts.

Any 1/2" bolt set for an, MJ,XJ,YJ,TJ, or 96 up Dakota will work, i believe on 96 and up 2.5ls the number of bolts with studs on them increased, but otherwise they should be the same.

The direct answer to your question-

84-85 engines had 7/16 bolts, every year thereafter had 1/2" bolts. Just order a 1/2" set and you'll be fine. 

You could take out a bolt or two and compare against a 4.0 set, can't answer that question, however, a 2.5 set will be cheaper. 

I want to present something here, if you don't like what I type, just let it be. This isn't just for you but for anyone who may read it. 

When I bought my truck it was presented to me as having a rebuilt engine with 5000 miles on it. I have no reason to doubt what the seller sold me, engine looked fresh and ran great. Ran cool during the test drive, oil pressure was between 40 and 60lbs.