Silver Star 1991 Pioneer Build

Silver Star: 1991 Comanche Pioneer

This is the Silver Star 1991 Pioneer build thread.  I have long loved Jeeps, my whole family has, and have over the years owned numerous Wrangler YJs and JKs and Cherokee XJs.  For the past few years I have been playing around with my YJ doing a frame off build.  I have always wanted a Comanche.

You've got to understand something about me. I am a software engineer by trade, and revel in my own obsessive compulsive disorder.  When I build a Jeep, I do every last thing right. I wanted to do a Comanche right.  For my Comanche build, I wanted all it's guts pretty much interchangeable with my YJ.  I know the Chrysler electronics very well, and I am very fond of the AX-15 4.0L HO combo.  So I was specifically looking for a 1991 or 1992 Comanche 4.0L HO AX-15 4x4 from the south or garage kept, no rust/rot, SWB preferred.

I'm in York, PA.  I spent three years waiting for the right one to pop up within five states on Craigslist.  I knew it would take a while because the combination of items I wanted to start with were going to be rare and hard to come by.  I'm not even sure this combination was offered in 1992, but likely.  In March 2017, a matching vehicle was listed in Waldorf, MD, and I bought it for $3200.

And so begins the Silver Star 1991 Pioneer build thread.

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Specs and Registration

This is pretty much a duplication of my registration post.  It has all the vehicle specifics.  I'm waiting to get the actual build sheet from Chrysler.  Will post that when received.

Vehicle: 1991 Jeep Comanche Pioneer 4x4 SWB

VIN: 1J7FJ36S6ML543372

SilverStarDay1-1.jpg.67363fce8af2d150f18e293fded2bed1.jpg

Engine: 4.0L HO (Chrysler Electronics)

Transmission: AX-15

Transfer Case: NP-231

Front Axel: Dana 30 3.07 Gears

Rear Axel: Dana 35 3.07 Gears

Wheelbase: Short Wheel Base / Short Bed

Build Date: October 1990

Current Mileage: 230,599