Looking for a low range option

I'm looking at options for a low range that would improve my crawl ratio significantly. Once I'm done working on my 9 inch rear I want to eventually start working on doing the AW4 to AX-15 conversion. That's the first step in lowering the ratio. Next is what transfer case setup to go with. I know I could put a Rubicon tcase in (NP241OR) which would give me a 4:1 and would cost in the range of $800-$1200. Another option is to get the Tera Lo kit which would also give me a 4:1 and be around $1200-$1400. I have a second Np231 lying around extra in which I could use it to make a doubler. The thing is is I'd love to have a doubler but A. I'm not experienced in building one and I haven't seen a lot of information or write-ups about doing this and B. Is this a good setup because I've heard that a 231 due to it being chain driven and not gears it would be prone to breaking? The little bit of information that I have found with jeep doublers is that most people use the Dana 300 from the cj's. I'm trying to keep it as cheap as I can plus like I stated before I already have this second 231 lying around. I know with the 231/300 combo I would have to do a flip kit on it since the 300 is passenger side drop so that would be another cost plus the cost of acquiring a 300 which is around $300. i know with just the 4:1 option that only lends me two options (1:1 and 4:1) but with the doubler I would have three options with the 231/231 (1:1, 2.72:1, 7.40:1)and five options with the 231/300 (basically same as the 231/231 setup but an added bonus of having front wheel and rear wheel dig). If I went with the ax-15 mated to the 231/231 doubler I could net about a 160:1 crawl which would be great. Any help or advice in this matter would be very appreciated. Thanks