2.5 to 4.0 swap

Alright, so to start off with, I'm new to ComancheClub. I'm no amazing mechanic or anything...let's just say my dad didn't teach very well. So, I know alot more than the average joe, but a heck of alot less than you respectable persons. So, my position here is thus: I have an '88 2.5l, 4 speed, 2wd that I blew the engine on. Now I bought a '90 MJ for $300, no title, no glass, 4.0, 5 speed, 4x4. I bought it for its guts and drivetrain, to swap into the 2.5. The '90 does run and has good compression. The 2.5 I have the title to, and it has a decent body, which is why I'm using it for the body/chassis. My situation is such that I don't have a running, legal vehicle, and I need one badly, don't have more than a couple hundred to spare every month, and this is my best bet for a cheap vehicle. That being said, I've read a ton, done research, compared diagrams...etc, but the simple truth is that I don't know what I'm even looking at sometimes. I've read Mjeff87's write-up, and it helps, but doesn't spell out for ME what to do with my set up. Sorry to repeat what's already been gone over so many times but I need someone to rectify my ignorance. So my question is:

What all do I have to swap over? I've heard such things as having to swap the entire vehicle wiring system over, to the underhood and underdash harnesses, to only the underhood harness, and nobody says where to start, for example: should I pull both engines/transmissions, and swap the drivetrain, then do the guts, or should I do engine/tranny first...all "writeups" I've found are more like documentation of what they did, not actually a write up of what they did, in what order, and how they did it. So, just not nearly detailed enough for me, and very detailed is what I need.