Bent High Pinion Dana 30 4.10 axle housing replacement?

What should I replace my 1987 MJ bent front High Pinion Dana 30 4.10 Axle housing with ? Another one? Or, is there a better choice that will be an upgrade while I'm at it? There is an '86 Cherokee replacement at a local yard, but I'm a newbie to the Jeep world and not sure I wouldn't be buying another bent housing.

A buddy of mine suggests looking for a Rubicon D44 to gain strength and limited slip while I'm at it - but neither of us know if that would be a bolt-on replacement, or require fab (which I don't want to do).

Any suggestions for this newbie will be greatly appreciated.

The Rubi front 44 isn't a true 44, only the center section is. The tube, the shafts, and Cs/knuckles are all D30. It is an upgrade, but not against tube bending.

The D30 is pretty stout. You'll be fine with another one.

How do people bend their D30s? Jumping?

I abuse mine offroad, bouncing the front end sometimes as high as 3 feet while climbing hills and the only damage I do are pinion bearings, stub shafts and unit bearings. Unit bearings are because of 35" tires, stub shafts because of those tires and a locker.

Front Rubi 44 is a bolt in unit. I have one ready to go in my truck. The only thing I am not 100% sure of is the front Ujoint, if it needs a 1330/1310 joint or not. Maybe I will resolve that question this weekend, I just haven't done the research yet.

The Rubi front 44 isn't a true 44, only the center section is. The tube, the shafts, and Cs/knuckles are all D30. It is an upgrade, but not against tube bending.

The D30 is pretty stout. You'll be fine with another one.

x2 just get another d30. you can build them to last awhile. plus I'm sure another 30 costs a little less than a "44". if you really have a bending problem, add gussets

edit.

oops, truss as well :doh:

From ROF: