Advice sought. Tatty 1980 J series pickup, should I buy it?

Jerry

Hi guys, can I have some help please.

I've seen this advertised today. It's up for $1200ca and according to the seller, it's not too rusty, the motor runs and it just needs the transfer case bolting back in to be road ready. Obviously it needs some TLC but I thought it might do a better job of hauling my camper than the MJ. I reckon I could get it for more like $750

Is this a good idea or could I be looking at a money pit?

Appreciate any advice because for now I'm still a truck buying novice :dunce:

Image Not Found

Image Not Found

A Jeep a money pit??? Nah never would happen.... :rotfl2: :rotfl2: :rotfl2:

Looks to be in pretty good shape to me..

Well alright, a money pit of a less serious nature then :yes:

:cheers:

A Jeep a money pit??? Nah never would happen.... :rotfl2: :rotfl2: :rotfl2:

Looks to be in pretty good shape to me..

Well alright, a money pit of a less serious nature then :yes:

:cheers:

not very good pics, but I don't see any rust in the seems on the body panels like they normally have, and it looks like the green moldiness will just wash right off.

that thing also has an OEM rollbar in it...worth some $$$ to a j-series owner.

I'd buy it. it's open knuckle front, probably 44 front 44 rear unless it's a 1 ton then it's a semi floating dana 60 rear

Cool, sounding fairly positive so far then. I'll go take a looky to see if there are any nasty suprises lurking and get some decent photos for you guys to see.

Is there anything I should look for specifically apart from rust? image_209027.gif

If I had the 1200 to get it, I would grab it up. Like previous poster said, if they are rusty you would usually see it in the seams. A nice full size is a thing to behold. Take our advice and save this truck, if only to resell it to one of us! :banana: