My 89 quit and won't start now

Hi folks,

Having a problem with my 89 4 litre. It's been working fine and just now while plowing snow it quit. And won't start again.  Plenty of battery and I did get it to fire a short time by using some starting spray,  but it wouldn't keep running.   Now it won't fire at all even with that,  or a bit of gas poured in the intake.  

I jumped the ballast resistor even though I didn't  think that was it, because it understand if that's the issue, it'll start and quit right away.    I can hear the fuel pump running for a second or two like usual when I go to start it but it just turns over and won't fire.  It's in an awkward snow bank right now so not easy to get to anything.

I'm not a mechanic so the next step is a tow truck unless I can find something easy and obvious.  Any suggestions? thanks

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Thanks!  Not too much of an angle  luckily...... but will go now and start wiggling and checking distributor. 

I'll check for spark but I assume so because it did fire with starting spray

I let it cool and wiggled connectors but no luck. Now no start even with the spray.   Also double checked that I have fuel.  Is there a way I can check for spark if I'm on my own?

Thanks ... that's a good idea. I will do that tomorrow.   I'm beginning to think about the coil too because just as I was quitting for the day, I tried it again and .... it started!  I ran it for about 5 min and it revved fine and I even backed up a foot or two. Then I shut it off, and no start again.  Maybe I didn't let it cool off long enough before.  I had this once on another truck where it wouldn't start unless the coil was totally cold.  Not sure if that would cause it to quit while running though. 

Time to check your CPS function. 

Read THIS PAGE and follow the test exactly as described. Report back with the number. It should be >=0.5 reading on the volts AC scale.