What Transmission do I want?

I am new to the Jeep Comanche's and I know that AMC never built a transmission.

I have located a couple of 1988-1989 Comanche's that I am interested in. 

What are the better transmissions?

Automatic's (who built them?, do AMC 904/727's bolt up? to the 4.0))

Manual 5 speeds (who built them?  Was there a heavy duty?  If so, can I figure it by vin#?)

Which would you prefer?

Ollie

The autos are nice, aisin Warner aw4 they don't seem to have very many issues unless you really beat on them. You can bolt the amc904/727 if you want to, but you'd be loosing overdrive. There was a race truck posted with that install, but that was a race truck.
As far as manuals goes, half way thru 1989 they switched from the weak Peugeot trans to the ax15. Both trans will work but the ax is the better option. Most people will swap in a ax when the Peugeot goes out so don't always assume what the truck has under it.

The AX-15 is the better manual. In my build thread that I emailed you, it will include that mine has the worse manual, but I have a rebuilt AX-15 to go in it. 

As as far as autos go, the AW-4 is a pretty stout trans from my understanding. 

It really depends on what you want and your plans. I wouldn't let the transmission be the deciding factor, I would buy the best truck you can afford. If I bought an auto, I would stay with the AW-4. I would live with the BA-10 in a 2wd truck, but would swap to an AX-15 in a 4wd. The additional ability to handle torque will allow it survive longer. The AX-15 can handle V-8 torque, it's as strong as any medium duty transmission.

Both the AW-4 auto and the AX-15 were/are manufactured by Aisin /Warner. They are still selling transmissions, I believe the AX-15 is still available new, and they provide Ram with truck automatic transmissions. The BA-10 was built by Peugeot. AMC was struggling to survive, so they used the cheapest transmission available. And we got what we paid for.