Changing Gears; Ring And Pinion

So this is what I got. 1991 jeep comanche with a full 2000 cherokee swap, there is a thread somewhere in here that I Showed her.

anyways. to what this topic is about,

I am running on front dana 30 3.54 gear ratio, and a rear dana 44 limited slip track lock differential with 3.54 gear ratio too. I have 285/75/16 tires, which come to about 33 inches.

I want to run either 4.10 or 4.56 gear ratio to get bettter gas/mileage, and for it to run smother too, and have a better response.

I am no expert on mechanics or anything, just a big fan of comanches, and cherokees, and some other jeeps. All I learned about jeeps has been here.

What I want to know is how do I know what type of ring and pinion I need?, low pinion, high pinion, thick, thin ring, etc without taking it apart since it is my daily driver.

and what is the best manufacturer to get this parts from.

I have found some good deals on ebay from motive gears, yukon gears, and expensive from dana/spicer, omix-ada.

any help would be appreciated.

If your drive train came from a 2000 XJ (Cherokee), you don't have a dana 44 rear axle because the Cherokee didn't offer a Dana 44 in 2000. You would have either a Dana 35 or a Chrysler 8.25.

The 2000 Cherokee used a low pinion Dana 30 in the front. Up through 1999 they were high pinion, so be certain of what you have. It will make a difference.

EDIT: Darn you Eagle!

The terms 'low' and 'high' pinion, as i understand them, refer to the position of the incoming pinion and don't really have anything to do with the physical gears themselves.

IF you also swapped the front axle out of that 2000 XJ you now have a low pinion Dana 30. 00 and 01 XJ are the only ones to come with a low pinion AFAIK. High pinion axles are preferred for their ground clearance. ALL 4wd MJs produced came with high pinion Dana 30s

Your rear axle is a low pinion, both Dana 44s and the more common Dana 35s are both low pinion axles.