New To The Renix: Safety Maintenance

Hey all,

As the title says i'm new to the Renix and I have some questions before i start driving this thing.  It's a 1990 model with an ax15 (i believe).  As of now, i've only revved the engine to about 3k RPM and I'd like to go to 5k but i don't feel comfortable with it.  With around 150k on the engine, what should i be doing maintenance wise before really stressing this thing.  I don't want to blow it up!  Thanks in advance

Josh

The question I'm asking myself is why you need to rev that high... apart from driving like I do... a bit of a hoon... And my MPG reflects my driving habits. Peak torque is around 2200 rpm, and I can accelerate to highway speeds without breaking 2000. It just takes a bit longer.

But I'd just do standard stuff for buying a new vehicle, plugs, wires, cap & rotor, change fluids, check all lights are working, and not worry about the engine unless there's cause to worry. 150,000 miles really isn't all that much for a 4.0. There are some on here with twice that.

It's not so much that I NEED to rev that high, but i'd like to know the engine could do it if necessary.   I have the notion to turn this truck into somewhat of a drift-o-manche and i'd like it to not grenade.  I read on another post that max HP is made right before 5k rpms.

Josh

It's not so much that I NEED to rev that high, but i'd like to know the engine could do it if necessary.   I have the notion to turn this truck into somewhat of a drift-o-manche and i'd like it to not grenade.  I read on another post that max HP is made right before 5k rpms.

Josh

Yes, it will and will be fine.

Run a quality oil filte rlike Wix or Napa gold and some good oil.