Ball joint questions.

Hey all, gonna be doing my ball joints here soon and had some questions. Any brands you would recommend/avoid? Any tips or tricks to make the job easier? I've never done ball joints before, so any advice is appreciated.

Thanks!

Matt

I bought a ball joint press from HF, works mint.

I always get the 'middle of pack' pricewise for balljoints. Usually end up with a higher end of the house brand from my auto parts store. They usually have them on hand so its just easier.

If you want to do ball joints just once, get Moog. I don't mind the work so I get the lifetime warranty Duralast from Autozone for a painless warranty exchange when I need it.

Autozone just redid their loaner program and they don't have a loaner balljoint press kit that has all the needed adapters for our axles anymore. I believe Advance Auto parts still does for a $160 refundable deposit. I just replaced two ball joints on a new axle I just installed under Wilbur this morning and made do with the Autozone press and a little piece of scrap 3/16" steel.

I just did ball joints this past weekend on my 87 using:

-Spicer ball joints from Motion Offroad [$50 per side]

-Harbor Freight ball joint press [$60 for the kit]

-Lithium grease

-liquid wrench

-Other assorted tools to get the tire, caliper, and steering knuckle off

Don't want to break the c-clamp press? get some good torque on the ball joint, then give it a good tap with an engineer's hammer; they will pop free easily and won't break your tools. Use liquid wrench on the joints and let it sit an hour after you get the steering knuckle off... after all, the old ball joints have probably been in there 20+ years. Use a small amount of lithium grease to help ease the new ball joints back in. Took me about 5 hours to do both sides by myself and was not nearly as scary as everyone made it out to be. There's some good videos on youtube to help walk you through it too.