what questions should i ask??

johnny quest

so I'm lookin for a comanche, and ive come along a few. but I'm not sure what i should really be looking for. i know to ask about miles, rust spots, drivetrain, replaced parts, etc, but what are some trouble spots that comanches might have that i should ask about?? what are some signs of 'bad things to come' that i might be able to identify?? in particular, problems to the 4.0, AW4, the transfer case, and maybe even the axles.

can you tell I'm kinda new to this?? :roll: :???:

Try EVERYTHING! All of the heater/blower settings, the windows, locks, lights, etc. Electrical is a major PITA if there's anything wrong - especially if the PO did something to it.

Otherwise if it's a 4.0/AW4 just check the fluids and make sure there's no majorly bad noises and don't worry too much.

Don't ask about anything. Most owners are clueless, and the ones who aren't clueless lie. Heck, a few months ago I went with a friend to look at what was advertised as a 1993 Jeep Comanche with liter high-output engine. Well, we pretty well had it figured out that it wasn't a '93, but when we got there it wasn't even an HO -- it was a 1988. The owner said he was sure it was a '93 when he bought it -- then he went home and "looked up" the paperwork and called my friend back to admit that, by golly, you guys were right it IS a 1988. "I didn't even realize it."

That took about $300 right off the top.

Then there was the 1998 XJ "4.0L Sport" I went to look at on a used car lot near where I used to work, for a NAXJA friend from out of state. I went over after work on a pleasant, sunny summer afternoon. The vehicle was in the front row, looked really nice, but it had some door graphics on it that I had never seen before, even in pictures. Nobody on the lot when I got there, so I looked in the windows. Hmmm ... idiot lights. On a Sport?