Interior rollcages

First let me start out by saying hello. I am a long time Jeeper but I am new to MJ's. I did build an XJ a few years back but I only owned it for a year or so. I had a built TJ on 36's for the past 4 years but sold it here recently. I've always wanted a Comanche and luckily my next door neighbor has one parked in his driveway for sale. It's an 89' sb, 4.0,AW4,D44 in decent shape. I'm really looking forward to building it. My plan is 35's or 36's, lockers front and rear, RK long arm on the front, spring over rear blah, blah, blah.... So... on to my question....

I'm not finding any cage kits for the MJ. I don't have access to a bender but I prefer to weld myself. What I'm wondering is... Have any of you built an interior cage using one of the S-10, Chevy Luv, or Toyota cages that are readily available at Jeg's and race car shops? Jegs is an hour from my house so I wouldn't even have to pay shipping. The 10 point cages are under $250 for these vehicles.

If none of you have any experience with any of these cages I suppose I'll just head up to Jegs with my measurements and a tape measure. But, if any of you have been through this before, your input would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks! :cheers:

My biggest concern is that I find a "B" hoop that is the right width and the overhead hoop is the right width from side to side. Everything else should work out okay with standard coping and fitting.

It just seems like a cheap and effective way of creating a roll cage for these without spending a thousand dollars. I'm not looking to build a show queen. I just want a solid wheeler I can feel safe in.

My goal is to build the whole MJ for under $3000. If I can get one of these cages to work for $250 then I am well on my way.

later, j