Leaf Over?

What is required to drop the axle under the leafs on our trucks? Does the platform need to be cut and rewelded?

Does anyone have any pictures of this mod done?

I apologize for the 'newbie' questions. I am new to 4x4's but by no means new to cars or custom fab work.

First off welcome to the addiction.

If by platform you mean the perch yes it has to be cut and moved to the top but do not reuse the old, buy new. You can get them for like 8 bucks from the stealership. I have done this on mine and it wasnt as simple as just flipping the axle under. I had to extend my D-shaft and make a drop bracket for the E-brake and extend brake lines. Also i made a leaf pack out of some i had laying around but if your stockers are in good shape you should be OK unless you plan to hual alot. A few others have done this and I'm sure i missed something so they will chime in and help you out even more. I don't have pics right now but if you tell me exactly what you want some of i can take some. There also might be a write up in the project section i think i remember someone doing one.

EDIT: and we do not tend to castrate newbies like some other sites you might be a member of. Just read the rules and you will see. ;)

Cole

Oh thats one i missed but here is the solution. Take the old ubolt plate where the shock mounts are now and change side with it and flip it upside down and on the top. Worked great with mine but you may want something different.

Cole

And if you don't want to do all of this, you can buy sping packs from rusty's offroad. They now make a 4inch spring pack for lifting MJ's. It was a little too high when I got it and installed it so I simply took the bottom leaf out and it now sits great after I put some weight in the back to settle them.

Also, what you are wanting to do is called a spring over axle or SOA.

don't tell the newbies to buy rusty's... totally not worth the money, a spoa will ride easier anyway.