'88 MJ Restification (lots of pictures):

I'm an old mechanic, and I've been turning wrenches in some capacity since the late 70's. Though I haven't done it professionally in awhile, I still love to wrench on something. I've wanted an MJ for a long time, and finally I was able to find a decent one in my price range. I've got big plans for her.

The day I brought her home...

...and it begins:

Since he's already gave me some pretty sound info, I decided to follow Pete M's advise, and...

Pull up your carpet and check for rust before it's too late!!

137,000 miles and 21 years of grunge, and carpet that smells like old booty.

After the seat was removed. Left side...

Right side. Serious nastiness.

I tried to take the the carpet out in one piece, but between the smell and the ant colony I just cut it into pieces and tossed it.

One of my new friends...

With the carpet out. More rust than I hoped for, but less than I expected.

Left side.

Right side.

Pete M's advise is sound. The carpet padding was real damp, especially on the passenger side, don't know if the previous owner is to blame or if there's a leak. Anyway, with the carpet out I can address the rust issue and if there is a leak it'll be easier to find. Plus it already smells better.

A positive note for the day, I believe I might have found why my dash lights weren't working...

The bench sits pretty good out of the truck, I might leave it in driveway for a couple of days and make the neighbors nervous.

• Replies 548
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Might make the neighbors nervous!!! I LOVE THAT!!! I think most of my neighbors are resigned to the idea I will always have some project in my driveway... Though someday, I might privacy fence the RV pad in...

So far so good. :thumbsup: After seeing that fuse, you should probably check and double check that the fuse box doesn't have any evidence of brake fluid contamination from the clutch master cylinder. :(