Low/ inconsistant oil pressure

alright so i did some searching but still haven't found any problems like this

I have an 88 MJ, 4.0 150k miles automatic 4x4,

When i first start driving, my oil pressure stays around 40, when i gas it it goes up more, when i ease off it goes down

but after around 20 minutes of driving, it will go down where it hovers at around 20, when i floor it it barely goes above 20, maybe like 25, and when i come to a stop at around 1k rpm, it drops to zero.

After the pressure initially drops from 40, you can hear noises coming out of the engine, like a ping noise and the sound of not being lubricated I think, but I'm no expert.

If you shut the truck off and start it without waiting probably over 2 hours, it won't return to the 40 psi, itll stay low.

I don't have a mechanical oil pressure gauge, but I'm thinking ill get one tomarrow to see if the gauge is correct, but anyone have any idea whats wrong?

from what ive read i would think its the oil pump

Reluctant to do that unless absolutely sure since i just changed the rear main seal and the oil pan is a pain in the @$$ to take off and put back on :doh:

But if anyone has had this problem or has any insight, it would be appreciated :cheers:

umm first thing i would do is hook it up to a mechanical guage. if its still bad then do an oil change with some seafoam. then if the problem is still there id shoot BLHTAZ a message and see if he can sell you a oil pump pick-up. cause that is probabally toast.

Oil pump pickup, what part is that?

I had the oil pump out when i was doing the rear main seal less then a month ago, no visible wear, if that makes any difference

and ive heard people talking about that seafoam stuff, what is it supposed to do?